Expertise areas at the TU Delft Space Institute

Many research groups at Delft University of Technology are currently working on topics directly related to or linked to Space. In specific areas, such as precise orbit determination, Geoscience, Space Instrumentation, and the Delfi -program, research groups have achieved a renowned recognition and belong to the top groups worldwide.

Five faculties are key contributors to the Space sector at the university. The TU Delft Space Institute will contribute substantially to the development of knowledge exchange, cooperation and visibility within and outside of the university.

More on the specific expertise areas and contact details for the various experts can be found in our online directory.


Ground station

A satellite ground station is present on the roof of the EWI building for VHF, UHF and the S-band communication as well as for the reception of pulsar signals for an FP7 project. Within the TU Delft Space Institute, the ground station will be further extended and innovated to be able to handle multiple satellites
and large data streams. The existing cooperation with ISIS will be intensified.

Clean room for satellite integration

An ISO 8, class 100,000 cleanroom exists on the 8th floor of the Aerospace Faculty. The cleanroom has been established in 2005 and is officially registered as an Aerospace Engineering facility since 2012. Its mission is to facilitate high-level research on space systems while, at the same time, providing students with education and training in the field in a professional environment. On this facility space systems are developed, integrated and tested. A cleanroom manager coordinates the work of students, assures safety, facilitates research activities and offers training in proper usage of facility equipment.

Korolev Lab

Korolev Lab, named after Sergei Korolev, father of practical astronautics, is a one of its kind lab in the entire campus of TU Delft. It houses the Armature Rocketry European Altitude holder and one of the Dream Teams – Delft Aerospace Rocket Engineering (DARE). Although the lab is a facility of TU Delft Robotics Institute, DARE is its primary user where the lab is now DARE’s primary mission planning floor for Stratos II and eight other teams within DARE working all year round in the fields of propulsion, structures, recovery systems, electronics and experimental rocket concepts. It provides one of the best environments to foster future rocket engineers

PhD dissertations

Below you can find a list of recently published PhD dissertations.

Arash Noroozi, A Reconfigurable GPS/Galileo Receiver Front-end for Space Applications, 2013

Rui Sun, Relative Navigation for Satellite Formation Flying based on Radio Frequency Metrology, 2014

Daan Maessen, Autonomous Relative Navigation for Small Spacecraft, 2014

Melak Zebenay, Development of a Robotics-based Satellites Docking Simulator, 2014

José v.d. Ijssel, GPS-based precise orbit determination and accelerometry for low flying satellites, 2014

Taco Broerse, Megathrust Earthquakes: Study of Fault Slip and Stress Relaxation Using Satellite Gravity Observations, 2014

Joao de Teixeira da Encarnacao, Next generation satellite gravimetry for measuring mass transport in the Earth system, 2015

Dominic Dirkx, Interplanetary laser ranging; analysis for implementation in planetary science missions, 2015

Jing Chu, Dynamics, Distributed Control and Autonomous Cluster Operations of Fractionated Spacecraft, 2015

Andreas Ohndorf, Multiphase Low-Thrust Trajectory Optimization Using Evolutionary Neurocontrol, 2016

Jinglang Feng, Orbital dynamics in the vicinity of contact binary asteroid systems, 2016

Rouzbeh Amini, Wireless Communication onboard Spacecraft, 2016

Raj Thilak Rajan, Relative Space-Time Kinematics of an Anchorless Network, 2016

Steven Engelen, Swarm Satellites: Design, Characteristics and Applications, 2016

Reinier Janssen, Multiwavelength Observations of Active Galactic Nuclei, 2017

Ferdi de Bruijn, Guidance control and dynamics of a new generation of geostationary satellites, 2017